IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Announcements
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Spam from Doubletapammo.com?
post November 10th 2009 5:12 PM
Post #1



Group Icon

Group: New Members
Member No.: 8,909
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug. 29th 2004
From: Kentucky
Online Status: OFFLINE






I have received the spam e-mail below has anyone else?
The link is for drugs

administator@doubletapammo.com wrote:
> Hello
> http://www.landseaskyco.com/catalog/documents/i.php?cid=1000

Links and References to Other Pages:

http://www.landseaskyco.com/ca.../documents/i.php?cid=1000
Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post
post November 10th 2009 7:05 PM
Post #2



Group Icon

Group: New Members
Member No.: 8,909
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug. 29th 2004
From: Kentucky
Online Status: OFFLINE






mmcnett@doubletapammo.com wrote:
> Someone has bounced a message through our e-mail server to you guys. It has not come from DoubleTap!!! We have not and will not ever sell your e-mail or info. We also will never send you spam. Please disregard any e-mail previously sent trying to get you to visit another site. Our web host is fixing the code to stop it from ever happening again.
> Your personal info is safe on another separate server. Please accept my apology that this has happened. We are working to serve you and keep your trust. If you have any questions at all please call 866-357-1066. Thank you for your time.
>
> -Mike McNett
> DoubleTap Ammunition

Thanks Mike for the update
Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post
post November 10th 2009 7:11 PM
Post #3


Seeking to eradicat liberalism one round at a time
Group Icon

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,331
Posts: 2,436
Joined: Aug. 14th 2007
From: Tennessee
Online Status: OFFLINE






At least they have addressed the problem and are working to fix it. I think some body was watching pron and picked up a trojan horse...


Signature:
"No free man shall ever be disbarred the use of arms... "The strongest reason for the people to retain the right to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves from the tyranny of government."


Thomas Jefferson


Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post
post November 10th 2009 8:12 PM
Post #4



Group Icon

Group: Members*
Member No.: 16,403
Posts: 20
Joined: Aug. 25th 2009
From: Rineyville, Ky
Online Status: OFFLINE






Yep, got both. Bothered by the fact that, as a business, they got their e-mail hacked, I like that "our" data is stored on another computer so it's safe...? why is it safe there if the email computer can be compromised, how do I know the data computer can't?

and I like they say to call them if you have questions...lol all you guys trying to track down an order or get info about barrels or ammo, call now!! they may answer the phone! they won't answer your email though, as the one I sent about the spam bounced back to me, as did the message I sent through thier "contact us" link.
Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post
post November 11th 2009 12:49 AM
Post #5


Hold My Beer and Watch This!
Group Icon

Group: Administrator
Member No.: 1
Posts: 26,480
Joined: Sep. 12th 2005
From: Blue Grass State by Heart, Currently Princeton IN.
Online Status: ONLINE






They can bounce a e-mail using any domain, all they have to do is change the name of the sending e-mail address and there it is.

The FCC pisses me off that they allow such spam sites to still operate, all they have to do is trace the IP address range and shut it down.

We have hackers everyday try to hack into our server and I ban IP's daily.


Signature:
"A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms shall not be infringed."
Second Amendment to the US Constitution December 15th 1791
Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post
post November 11th 2009 2:15 AM
Post #6



Group Icon

Group: General Discussion Staff
Member No.: 371
Posts: 10,038
Joined: Nov. 12th 2005
From: Indiana
Online Status: ONLINE






QUOTE (EddieM @ November 10th 2009 1:12 PM) *
I have received the spam e-mail below has anyone else?
The link is for drugs

administator@doubletapammo.com wrote:
> Hello
> http://www.landseaskyco.com/catalog/documents/i.php?cid=1000


Drugs and ammo? Sounds like a party to me.
Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post
post November 11th 2009 3:14 AM
Post #7



Group Icon

Group: Members*
Member No.: 16,403
Posts: 20
Joined: Aug. 25th 2009
From: Rineyville, Ky
Online Status: OFFLINE






I don't know what "bouncing" is. It Implies that thier email server and list was not compromised, only piggy backed or something, but I seriously doubt that's the case. I have 4 email addys, 2 have been used to place orders at DT.. and amazingly, both recieved spam. Only one way for that to happen. Thier list is public in some manner.
Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post
post November 18th 2009 4:20 PM
Post #8



Group Icon

Group: New Members
Member No.: 8,909
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug. 29th 2004
From: Kentucky
Online Status: OFFLINE






They are still comming


sales@doubletapammo.com wrote:
> Hello
> http://z23ie.tk/

Links and References to Other Pages:

http://z23ie.tk/
Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post
post November 19th 2009 2:12 AM
Post #9



Group Icon

Group: New Members
Member No.: 17,347
Posts: 6
Joined: Nov. 14th 2009
From: Leroy, Michigan
Online Status: OFFLINE






I got that one today too. Someone's hacked their site.
Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post
post November 20th 2009 11:41 PM
Post #10


10mm guru!
Group Icon

Group: Admins
Member No.: 256
Posts: 6,139
Joined: Oct. 26th 2005
From: Andover Kansas
Online Status: ONLINE






QUOTE (kegs @ November 18th 2009 8:12 PM) *
I got that one today too. Someone's hacked their site.



POssibly. McNett will get it taken care of.



Signature:
When all else fails......Vote from a rooftop

"Nut up or shut up"
Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post
post November 25th 2009 12:16 AM
Post #11


10mm guru!
Group Icon

Group: Admins
Member No.: 256
Posts: 6,139
Joined: Oct. 26th 2005
From: Andover Kansas
Online Status: ONLINE






QUOTE (Patrice @ November 22nd 2009 7:49 AM) *
YESSS! And I've heard that DT's gonna work on their phones & email inbox...soooo emails get replied to...& v-mails get responded to.... (but you know about internet gossip).--Patrice anim_coffee.gif



If you have a problem with the way a sponsor conducts, business here, give me or another staff member a private message.

Thanks
Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post
post December 11th 2009 10:26 PM
Post #12



Group Icon

Group: Members
Member No.: 10,314
Posts: 89
Joined: Jun. 14th 2006
From: Screw the middle east! Carpet bomb all of them!
Online Status: OFFLINE






QUOTE (maypo59 @ November 10th 2009 12:12 PM) *
Yep, got both. Bothered by the fact that, as a business, they got their e-mail hacked, I like that "our" data is stored on another computer so it's safe...? why is it safe there if the email computer can be compromised, how do I know the data computer can't?

You don't know. It's the internet. Realize that fact and you won't go stir-crazy.

QUOTE (maypo59 @ November 10th 2009 12:12 PM) *
...and I like they say to call them if you have questions...lol all you guys trying to track down an order or get info about barrels or ammo, call now!! they may answer the phone! they won't answer your email though, as the one I sent about the spam bounced back to me, as did the message I sent through thier "contact us" link.

You say a lot of "theys." ARe you refering to DoubleTap??? 'Cause every time I've emailed them, "they" have always answered my email questions. Maybe they just don't like you for some reason.


Signature:
"PEOPLE SLEEP WELL AT NIGHT, KNOWING THAT ARMED MEN STAND READY TO DO VIOLENCE ON THEIR BEHALF" -ORWELL
Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post
post December 17th 2009 3:54 PM
Post #13



Group Icon

Group: Members*
Member No.: 16,403
Posts: 20
Joined: Aug. 25th 2009
From: Rineyville, Ky
Online Status: OFFLINE






QUOTE (Airsupport @ December 11th 2009 6:26 PM) *
You don't know. It's the internet. Realize that fact and you won't go stir-crazy.

My point was exactly correct, if 1 of his computers has been hacked, then any one of them can, if connected.


You say a lot of "theys." ARe you refering to DoubleTap??? 'Cause every time I've emailed them, "they" have always answered my email questions. Maybe they just don't like you for some reason.


OH, I am sorry, YES I AM TALKING ABOUT DT. But the fact that a quick search here, and on other boards finds many people who have had a similar experience with them (DT) to mine, leads me to believe that what I experinced is more the "norm" then you might want to believe, maybe because this is his defacto forum and YOU are a major fan boy?


This post has been edited by maypo59: December 17th 2009 3:55 PM
Go to the top of the pagePM
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

Active Members
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
 


Information Center
RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: March 12th 2010 10:36 PM